Saturday, May 23, 2015

System of Government: The Constitution Article 1

This is a great video that explains the 10 sections of article 1.

In addition, you can read the legislative branch of the constitution with the interpretation from

Congress is in charge of passing laws, however there is a process that they must follow. Congress is divided in two houses, or what is knows as the Great Compromise or Connecticut Compromise. Basically, it states that there must be a house of representatives and a senate. Both houses get paid via the US Treasury.

The House of Representatives holds the power of impeachment. The members are chosen every two years by voters. The number of representatives is based on the population of the states. However, in 1929 it was established that 435 members should compose the house. In order to be eligible, members must be 25 years old, they must reside in that state and be citizens of the United States for at least seven years.

The Senate among others is responsible for conducting the trial if there is an impeachment case. The Vice-president is the president of the senate. The senate has 100 members, two senators from each state. The senators are elected by voters of their state and may see for unlimited number of six years term. Senatorial elections are held of a staggered basis, so that one third is elected every two years. 

The powers of the congress are clearly stated in the constitution, in general, they are in charge of: 1) Lay and collect taxes, duties, imposts and excises 2) Pay and make national debt 3) Provide for the common defense and federal welfare of the US Although the congress is in charge of passing laws, any proposed legislation must be passed by both the house of representatives, the senate and be approved by the president.

So what did you find interesting?

No comments:

Post a Comment